Perfect, Reveal, Lift

full disclosure banner

Dolce & Gabbana The Lift Foundation via Paths & Errands

“One of the Dolce & Gabbana woman’s most powerful tools is her face: every aspect reveals something about her and her experiences, each expression reveals an emotion. Each woman decides what parts, if any, of the story she wants to tell.” -Domenico Dolce and Stefano Gabbana

Dolce & Gabbana The Lift Foundation via Paths & Errands

Dolce & Gabbana The Lift Foundation via Paths & Errands

If elegance is your game, then Dolce & Gabbana is the brand to try. I’m not a fan of foundation (or anything that requires I wake up five minutes earlier), but if I must, then I will automatically reach for The Lift Foundation ($72). Mattes have their place, but I’m not a fan of the too-perfect texture that some mattifying formulas impart. I want my skin to look like skin!

By happy coincidence, I get my perfect match when I mix two of the three options I received: Natural Glow and Creamy. As always, get thee to a counter and test (along your jawline), because I think we would all agree that this is vastly preferable to ordering multiples and praying to the makeup gods. The lineup includes 15 shades, each touting an SPF of 25, although I’d still recommend that you apply your usual sunscreen underneath. I like to casually apply it with my hands, but it also looks fantastic stippled on with my $3 E.L.F. Powder Brush. The result is as if someone mixed a moisturizer, foundation and subtle illuminator (dewifier? Can I use that non-word?) together, then poured it into what never fails to remind me of a blown-up, high-end nail polish bottle. It’s smoothing, fragrance-free and easily buildable. I’m sure I could heap on even more praise if prodded, so ask me all your questions in the comments below. (If you have oily skin, powder accordingly.)

Dolce & Gabbana Sheer Radiance Makeup Base via Paths & Errands

And because the foundation looks a little lonely on its own, the brand also released their Sheer Radiance Makeup Base ($64). The white-and-gold bottle is, without a doubt, one of the chicest things currently gracing my makeup cubby—because one thing D&G never ever fails at is packaging. It’s an excellent primer if you’re in search of one, half skincare and half makeup, but I confess it’s more decor than necessity for me. It provides a silky base for your makeup and subtly brightens skin, but truth is…the foundation is so good on its own I don’t even need this pre-step. Like the foundation, it contains Sicilian olive oil, along with a mix of amino acids and peptides to moisturize the skin. Coincidentally, the brand suggests using this as a standalone moisturizer—daytime, since it contains SPF 30. I’m so incredibly picky with my moisturizers that I doubt I’ll be making the switch anytime soon, but it’s a plus to consider if you like the formula but hesitate to splurge on a primer.

Dolce & Gabbana The Lift Foundation via Paths & Errands

Dolce & Gabbana The Lift Foundation via Paths & Errands

Full disclosure: The products featured in this post are press samples. All opinions are my own. Please see the disclaimer section of my About page for my full posting policy.

10 thoughts on “Perfect, Reveal, Lift

  1. No D&G makeup here and I’m so picky with foundations I must test it for a few days to see how it looks. I’m still lemming for the lipstick in Dahlia though. I think you featured it a while back 🙂

    1. Oh darn, I hope they’re international soon. I’m super picky with mine as well, because I prefer not to wear it at all in the first place. And OMG that is the only lipstick I’ve been wearing regularly since I featured it. Plum is my new go-to color!

  2. Praying to the gods doesn’t sound like a bad idea if you live in the US (thanks to return policies) haha. In Malaysia though… going to a counter is a must.

    And woot woot, yay for a new blog! It is looking good (loving the name BTW).

  3. I love the statement about the D&G woman because it establishes the default of a woman’s face as utmost discretion unless otherwise stated … it’s reversed – the default could be a made up face and anything revealed could be thought of as a modification, instead of assuming that a woman’s face is bare until it is modified additively. I’ve never thought of it that way and it’s kind of refreshing.

    Also, I am always seduced by the half skincare half makeup concept.

Leave me a note!

